10.5 C
New York
Saturday, January 28, 2023

Buy now

7 national parties will receive Rs 778.73 Crore in donations in 2021-22; BJP, Cong account over 90%: EC data

At least seven national parties have received Rs 778.73 crore in contribution of more than Rs 20,000 from individual donors and entities in FY 2021-22 with Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress accounting for more than 90% of the proportion, Data from the Election Commission (EC) analyzed by CNN-News18 shows.

There are eight national parties in India: BJP, Indian National Congress (INC/Congress), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Communist Party of India (CPI), Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI(M)), All India Trinamool Congress (AITC/TMC) and National People’s Party (NPP). Aside from the CPI, all other seven parties’ contribution data has been updated for 2021-22.

While the BJP raked in the highest amount of donations (Rs 614.52 crore), the BSP was at the other end of the spectrum with zero donations. .

In its report to the Election Commission, the BSP said it received “zero” contributions of more than Rs 20,000 during 2020-2021. This has been the position of the BSP for more than a decade and a half. receives money from low-income people.

In terms of number of donations, the BJP is at the top. It got more than Rs 614.52 crore from 4,957 donations. The Congress was second on the list with Rs 95.45 crore declared from 1,257 donations. Clubbed together, these two parties alone account for more than 90% of the total contributions reported by the seven national parties.


In 245 donations, the NCP received Rs 57.90 crore making it an average of Rs 23.63 lakh per donor – the highest among the parties.

On average, the BJP received Rs 12.39 lakh per donor while for the Congress it was Rs 7.59 lakh. For the TMC it was Rs 6.14 lakh per donor and for the NPP and CPI(M) it was Rs 2.08 lakh and Rs 1.87 lakh respectively, according to the EC data.

The NCP also reported the highest jump in donations from 2020-21. Further, when compared to the donations received by these national parties in the previous fiscal year (2020-21), the contributions received by the BJP, Congress, NCP and AITC have increased while those of the NPP and CPM have decreased , the data shows.

Sharad Pawar’s NCP has received the highest jump in contribution – more than double from Rs 26.26 crore in 2020-21 to Rs 57.90 crore in 2021-22.

Political parties must declare donations received above Rs 20,000 annually to the Election Commission.

Read all the latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles