1.5 C
New York
Friday, February 3, 2023

Buy now

Akhilesh hints at contesting 2024 LS polls from Kannauj, BJP MP says SP chief has no chance

Akhilesh Yadav, chairman of the Samajwadi party, indicated on Thursday that he will be allowed to participate in the 2024 parliamentary elections from Kannauj, which had elected him as a member of parliament for the first time.

“It is our job to argue… What will I do if I do nothing? I will fight from where I contested the first election,” he told reporters here when asked if he will fight from Kannauj in 2024.

However, the former chief minister of Uttar Pradesh said the party would make a decision at the right time.

Akhilesh Yadav was here to attend a private party hosted by party leader Sunil Kumar Gupta alias Munna Bhaiya.

Responding to Akhilesh Yadav’s statement, BJP leader and Kannauj MP Subrat Pathak said, “He is welcome to fight from here (Kannauj). But he’s not going to win. In 2024 polls, BJP will win all 80 seats in UP.”

“People have faith in the governments of Yogi Adityanath and Narendra Modi. After the results of the Mainpuri bypoll, SP will blame EVM again. We are in touch with some SP people from Mainpuri and they will join BJP when we request it,” Pathak said.

The bypoll for Mainpuri seat is necessary after the death of sitting MP and SP founder Mulayam Singh Yadav.

When asked why he sent his wife Dimple Yadav from Mainpuri in the December 5 bypoll as she had previously contested from Kannauj, the SP chief said: “There will be elections again in 2024.” On repeated questions from media persons if they will finalize the next Lok Sabha polls of Kannauj, the SP chief said, “The party will decide.” Akhilesh Yadav, who was elected from the Azamgarh seat in the Lok Sabha in the last Lok Sabha elections, had resigned after being elected from Karhal early this year to remain active in state politics.

The 49-year-old SP leader has won three elections since 2000 from the Kannauj parliamentary seat, first winning the bypoll and then the 2004 and 2009 general elections.

After becoming the chief minister, he was elected to the UP Legislative Council, and Dimple Yadav represented Kannauj by winning the bypoll in 2012 and then winning again in the 2014 general election.

However, she lost the seat in the 2019 election to BJP’s Subrat Pathak.

When told that the handling of Dimple Yadav in Mainpuri bypoll has caused confusion among the workers in Kannauj, Akhilesh Yadav described Kannauj as his ‘karmabhoomi’ and said that the people of Kannauj have elected him as MP thrice.

He claimed that the people here have always given him affection and love and that is why he can never leave Kannauj.

Veteran socialist leader Ram Manohar Lohia had represented Kannauj in parliament in 1967 as a candidate for the Samyukta Socialist Party.

Kannauj constituency, known for perfume trade, was carved out of Farrukhabad in 1997.

Kannauj has five constituencies: Kannauj, Chhibramau, Tirwa, Bidhuna and Rasoolabad. All five seats are held by the BJP in the 2022 polls.

Akhilesh Yadav, who is currently campaigning in Mainpuri bypoll, said people widely supported the Samajwadi party there. Each section supports the party as ‘Netaji’ gave a new dimension to Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituency and had strong ties. The people of Mainpuri are themselves contesting the election, he added.

After attending the function, Yadav left for Mainpuri.

Read all the latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles