0.9 C
New York
Friday, February 3, 2023

Buy now

Bypolls will be held on November 3 at 7 congressional seats in six states

On November 3, seven Assembly seats in six states will go to the polls, according to the schedule announced Monday by India’s Election Commission. The counting of votes will take place on November 6.

Farewell elections will be held in Andheri East in Maharashtra, Mokama and Gopalganj in Bihar, Adampur in Haryana, Munugode in Telangana, Gola Gokrannath in Uttar Pradesh and Dhamnagar in Odisha.

The Gazette notice will be published on October 6. The last date to submit nominations is October 14 and candidates can withdraw their candidacy by October 17.

In Bihar, the bypoll was necessary following Mokama MLA’s disqualification from RJD Anant Kumar Singh following his conviction in a case in July, while BJP’s Subhash Singh, who represented the Gopalganj constituency, passed away in August.

Vacancies arose in Andheri East, Gola Gokrannath and Dhamnagar constituencies following the passing of their respective legislators. Andheri East MLA Shiv Sena’s Ramesh Latke, BJP lawmakers Arvind Giri (Gola Gokrannath) and Bishnu Sethi (Dhamnagar) have passed away this year.

The resignation of Kuldeep Bishnoi as Congressman from Adampur and K Rajagopal Reddy as Munugode legislator created vacancy in their constituencies. Bishnoi was expelled by Congress after defying the whip and voting for BJP-backed candidate Kartikeya Sharma in Rajya Sabha polls. In August, he joined the BJP.

The Electoral Commission has decided to use EVMs and VVPATs in the by-elections in all polling stations.

In the wake of COVID-19, the Commission said the district apparatus should effectively monitor the COVID situation and enforce appropriate COVID-19 behavior by prescribing the required legal/administrative standards.

Read all Latest political news and Important news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles