0.9 C
New York
Friday, February 3, 2023

Buy now

Delhi Congress likely to release first list of 125 candidates by Friday

The Delhi Congress will release the first list of 125 candidates for the municipal polls in the next 48 hours, a party source said on Wednesday.

According to Delhi Congress chief Anil Kumar, a meeting was called earlier in the day to discuss the names of potential candidates.

The meeting was led by Ajoy Kumar, the party’s MCD election leader, and attended by screening committee head Avinash Pandey and members K Jayakumar and Qazi Mohd Nizamuddin, Kumar said.

“The party poster is launched and the names of the first 125 candidates will be announced within 48 hours. The names are being finalized,” the source said, adding that party district chairmen have already met the ticket aspirants here.

“Cleanliness in the national capital will be our main focus. The party’s motto for the polls will be ‘MCD matlab meri chamakti Dilli’, the source added.

Kumar, for his part, said that multiple applications have been received from each department and that the party will issue tickets to those who worked on the base.

“Preparations for the MCD elections are in full swing. We discussed the names of potential candidates on Wednesday,” he told PTI.

Kumar said Congress will undertake a door-to-door campaign to denounce the BJP’s corruption in the MCD and expressed confidence that the first mayor of the reunited civilian body will be a congressman.

Ajoy Kumar said people had lost faith in the BJP and AAP because of their corruption and empty promises.

“Corruption, pollution, empty promises and passivity have left both the BJP and the AAP behind. Congress officials will expose their wrongdoing,” he said.

The 250-member MCD will go to the polls on December 4 and the votes will be counted on December 7.

The BJP has held power in the MCD – split into companies in the north, south and east in 2012 and then united this year – for three consecutive terms.

The high-stakes citizen polls are largely seen as a three-way contest between the BJP, the AAP and Congress.

Read all Latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles