1.5 C
New York
Friday, February 3, 2023

Buy now

Expect them to join BJP soon, Assam CM says of those who voted for Tharoor in Cong Prez Poll; Gets a response

Commenting on the Congress party’s “so-called” presidential election, Assam’s chief minister, Himanta Biswa Sarma, said on Saturday that he expects those who voted for Shashi Tharoor to “join the BJP soon”.

Biswa also named the 1,072 deputies who voted for Tharoor as the “only democratic” people in the big old party.

“In the so-called internal elections of Congress, the results were already known and announced before the vote was counted. How is Shri Mallikarjun Kharge the symbol of internal democracy? The only Democratic people in Congress were the 1,000 deputies who showed the courage to vote for Shashi Tharoor. I expect them to join BJP soon,” Biswa told ANI news agency.

Congress leader Shashi Tharoor responded to these comments, saying, “those who show courage will never join the BJP.” Only those who “don’t have the courage to fight” might be tempted to join the saffron festival, Tharoor added.

Apart from him, Congress leader Salman Anees Soz has said that he will never join the BJP, even if it is the only party left because it has too many “fanatics”.

On Twitter, Soz said: “I was one of the 1,072 delegates who voted for Shashi Tharoor in the congressional elections. We lost, but internal party democracy won. If BJP were the only party left, I wouldn’t be there. It has too many bigots, cowards and opportunists for my taste.”

Joining the response chorus, senior congressional leader Jairam Ramesh retweeted the Prime Minister’s comments, writing:Bakwas (nonsense) knows no boundaries for him.”

Pawan Kharge said Sarma’s heart was still in Congress.

In Congress presidential polls held last month, Mallikarjun Kharge was elected Congress president after defeating Shashi Tharoor in an election match, the sixth in the party’s 137-year history.

kharge became the first non-Gandhi president in 24 years.

Outgoing Congress President Sonia Gandhi visited Kharge at his Delhi residence and congratulated him. Karti Chidambaram, a counter agent for Tharoor, stated after the counting process that Kharge had won the election and that the Kerala MP had received 1,072 votes.

Out of a total of 9,915 Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC) delegates who formed the electoral college to elect the party chief in a secret ballot, more than 9,500 cast their votes Monday at PCC offices and AICC headquarters. favored Kharge. He also conveyed his congratulations to Kharge for his win. “The decision of the party representatives is final and I humbly accept it. It is a privilege to be a member of a party that allows its workers to elect their president,” Tharoor said.

“Our new president is a party colleague and senior who brings a lot of leadership and experience. Under his leadership, I am confident that we can collectively take the party to new heights,” said Tharoor. Tharoor said the party owes an “irredeemable debt” to outgoing President Sonia Gandhi for her quarter-century of leadership of the party and being the anchor during our most pivotal moments.

Read all Latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles