3.7 C
New York
Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Buy now

Himachal Pradesh records 72.72% turnout; AAP Announces Second List For Delhi MCD Polls

Voting started at 8 a.m. and continued until 5 p.m. While it got off to a slow start, with only 5% polls in the first hour, it picked up slowly over the course of the afternoon.

It rose to 37.19 percent at 1 p.m. and until 3 p.m. the state registered a 55.65 percent turnout.

The highest poll of 62.75 per cent was recorded in Lahaul and Spiti district, followed by 60.38 per cent in Sirmour and 58.9 per cent in Mandi, the home district of Chief Minister Jairam Thakur.

BJP President JP Nadda cast his vote saying he was confident that the BJP would win and Jairam Thakur would become CM again.

State Congress chief Pratibha Singh said the party is confident of winning 40-45 seats, according to ANI. 5.02% attendance was recorded until 09:00. Chief Minister Jairam Thakur on Twitter urged voters to turn up in droves for the ‘festival of democracy’. He said every vote will help build a prosperous Himachal Pradesh. Meanwhile, Prime Minister Modi greeted young voters in a tweet and asked voters to register a new record.

MCD election 2022

The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) released its second list of 117 candidates for the Dec. 4 polls to the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) on Saturday. The party had announced its first list of 134 candidates for the 250-member house on Friday. It also released its list of 30 star campaigners. The list includes the names of Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, MLA Rajendra Pal Gautam, who recently stepped down as a minister amid a row over attending a religious conversion event, and former cricketer and incumbent Rajya Sabha member Harbhajan Singh.

The Delhi BJP also released its first list of 232 candidates on Saturday. The other 18 candidates will be announced later, the party reports in a statement.

Earlier in the day, Arvind Kejriwal, the national organizer of the AAP, had challenged the BJP to tell the public about five things they have been doing in the citizenry over the past 15 years.

Meanwhile, after the list was announced on Friday, the BJP attacked AAP over the inclusion of MLA Rajendra Pal Gautam as a star campaigner for the MCD polls. The saffron party accused AAP of taking an “anti-Hindu” stance.

Gautam had resigned from the Arvind Kejriwal-led government last month after sparking controversy over attending a religious conversion program that allegedly insulted Hindu gods.

The 250-ward Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD) will go to the polls on December 4 and the vote counting will take place on December 7.

Gujarat Election 2022

Congress on Saturday released its fourth list of nine candidates for Gujarat’s parliamentary elections, which will take place in two phases in December. The total number of candidates nominated by the party so far is 104. Congress released its first list of 43 candidates for the election last Friday.

Among the candidates on the fourth list are Malubhai Kandoria from Dwarka, Mansinh Dodiya from Talala and Jaykantbhai Patel from Bharuch.

The party also released the parliamentary election manifesto in Gujarat on Saturday with 11 pledges, including waiving the farmer’s loan up to Rs 3 lakh and implementing the old pension system in the state.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday announced candidates for an additional six seats in Gujarat’s parliamentary elections. With this, the ruling party has announced the names of the candidates for all 89 seats, out of a total of 182, who will go to the polls in the first phase of the two-stage elections. Overall, the BJP has so far named candidates for 166 Assembly segments as it issued the first list of 160 candidates on Nov.

Meanwhile, the AAP, which is also trying to establish a stronghold in the state, has released its 15th list of 3 candidates for the Gujarat Assembly elections. The party has settled Mahindra Rajput from Sidhpur, Lalji Parmar from Sidhpur and Mahendra Patil from Udhana.

The elections for the 182-member Gujarat assembly will be held in two phases on December 1 and 5. The votes will be counted on December 8.

Read all Latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles