3.7 C
New York
Monday, February 6, 2023

Buy now

One more down in Guj Cong as Bhavesh Katara quits, BJP likely to release first list of candidates today

find tickets to the polls to be held on December 1 and 5.

Their statements come at a time when BJP’s central parliament council has convened the meeting to finalize the names of candidates in Delhi led by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

“These four senior leaders of our party have written separate letters to the party chairman of the state unit CR Paatil, saying that they do not want to fight the upcoming elections,” said Gujarat BJP spokesman Yamal Vyas.

“I have decided not to fight elections this time. The BJP gave me the chance to be Gujarat’s prime minister for five years. Now they have put me in charge of Punjab and as a senior leader I have stated before that I will not fight for this election. I didn’t even demand a ticket,” Rupani told reporters.

Rupani (66), an incumbent MLA from Rajkot West, was the prime minister from August 2016 to September 2021. He and his entire council of ministers were replaced by the BJP in September 2021.

Patel has said in a handwritten letter to Paatil that he should not be considered for a ticket to contest the seat of the Mehsana Assembly, which is currently represented by him, as he has decided not to participate in the upcoming elections.

Meanwhile, on Wednesday night, the BJP’s Central Election Commission meeting to finalize the party’s candidates for the Gujarat election began here, with Hardik Patel and Alpesh Thakor leaving the congress to join the probabilities.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Affairs Minister Amit Shah, Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel, BJP President JP Nadda and other top leaders attended the meeting at the party headquarters here.

Sources said Hardik Patel and Alpesh Thakor will likely get tickets to the party. Patel can be handled from Viramgam in Ahmedabad.

Cricket player Ravindra Jadeja’s wife Rivaba Jadeja is also among the possible candidates, the sources say.

Read all Latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles