5.1 C
New York
Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Buy now

SP candidate Dimple Yadav submits nomination for Mainpuri Bypolls on Monday

Samajwadi Party candidate for the Mainpuri Lok Sabha bypolls Dimple Yadav is likely to submit her nomination papers on Monday, a senior party leader said.

The 44-year-old wife of SP chief Akhilesh Yadav will submit her nomination to the Mainpuri Collectorate Monday afternoon, Alok Shakya, district chairperson of the Samajwadi party’s district unit, told PTI.

Dimple Yadav’s candidacy is seen as the SP’s efforts to continue the legacy of her father-in-law Mulayam Singh Yadav in the seat, considered a party stronghold since 1996. Her selection is also seen as an attempt to advance party cadres. of the by poll.

The by-election for the Mainpuri Lok Sabha seat is set for December 5 and the result will be announced on December 8.

The submission of nominations for the bypoll has begun and November 17 is the last date for nominations.

The parliamentary seat in Mainpuri became vacant after the death of Mulayam Singh Yadav on October 10.

The BJP has not yet announced its candidate for the seat, while it is still unclear whether Congress, BSP and Shivpal Yadav’s Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party-Lohia (PSPL) will contest the polls or not.

Dimple Yadav had lost the Lok Sabha elections in 2019 to BJP candidate Subrat Pathak from Kannauj.

In 2019, SP patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav won the seat by a margin of more than 94,000 votes over his closest rival BJP’s Prem Singh Shakya.

Akhilesh’s Karhal assembly seat is part of Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituency and so is Jaswant Nagar represented by Shivpal Yadav.

Dimple Yadav was unanimously elected from Kannauj constituency to the Lok Sabha in 2012 after Akhilesh became the prime minister and resigned to join Uttar Pradesh’s legislative council.

Yadavs account for about 35 percent of the total 12.13 lakh voters in the Mainpuri Lok Sabha constituency, with the remainder comprising Shakyas, Thakurs, Brahmins, Scheduled Castes and Muslims.

Mainpuri parliamentary constituency has five assembly segments including Mainpuri, Bhogaon, Kishni, Karhal and Jaswant Nagar. While the SP won three seats (Karhal, Kishni and Jaswantnagar), BJP won two seats (Mainpuri and Bhogaon) in the 2022 parliamentary elections.

Read all Latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles