3.7 C
New York
Tuesday, February 7, 2023

Buy now

TMC sues government for not giving party chairmanship of parliamentary committees

TMC MP Derek O’Brien spoke to the government on Friday about the choice of parliamentary committee chairmen, noting that his party has zero MPs leading such panels, despite being the third largest in parliament and the second. largest opposition party.

“56 new #Parliament committee chairpersons announced. BJP makes fun of it. Parties (including some soft allies) with fewer MPs become presidents. Third largest party in parliament, second largest opposition party TMC gets ZERO!,” he said in a tweet.

He also posted the full list of presidents on his Twitter handle.

A reshuffle of parliamentary panels, notified by the secretariats of both Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, saw the chairmen of several committees swapped last month.

With Congress losing the presidency of the parliamentary committee on interior affairs in the last rejig, all major parliamentary panels – External Affairs, Defense and Finance – lie with the ruling BJP.

In addition to Home Affairs, Congress was also not given the chairmanship of Information and Technology in the reconstruction of parliamentary panels, which happens every year.

Congressman Abhishek Manu Singhvi has been replaced by BJP MP and former DGP of Uttar Pradesh Brijlal as Chairman of Parliament’s Standing Committee on Home Affairs.

Congressman Shashi Tharoor has been replaced by Prataprao Jadhav, a Shiv Sena MP from the Shinde faction, as head of the parliamentary information technology panel.

Tharoor’s commission was in the news all year for its inclusion of various topics critical of the government.

The Trinamool Congress, which chaired the parliamentary panel on food and consumer affairs, has not been chaired by a parliamentary committee following the reshuffle.

The food panel will be chaired by BJP MP from West Bengal Locket Chatterjee.

Similarly, Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) and Samajwadi Party also lost the presidency of the Industry and Health panel respectively.

TRS leader Keshav Rao has been replaced by DMK leader Tiruchi Siva as chairman of the industry panel, while BJP MP Vivek Thakur will lead the health panel to replace SP leader Ram Gopal Yadav.

BJP’s former ally JD(U) has also been awarded a commission in the latest restructuring. His Rajiv Ranjan Singh will now chair the panel on Urban Development.

Read all Latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles