-1.6 C
New York
Thursday, February 2, 2023

Buy now

Nitin Menon named among 16 umpires for T20 World Cup | Cricket News

DUBAI: Indias Nitin Menon will be one of the 16 umpires to perform in the ICC World Cup T20 in Australia.
Menon, the only Indian on the ICC Elite Panel, has already reached Australia.
The ICC has announced 20 match officials for the first round and Super 12s phase of the tournament.
“A total of 16 umpires will lead the tournament with Richard KettleboroughNitin Menon, Kumara Dharmasena and Marais Erasmus because they were the umpires in charge of the 2021 final, where this year’s hosts claimed their first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title,” the ICC said in a statement.
“It’s an experienced group of umpires, with the same 16 selected as last year’s tournament held in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.”
Ranjan Madugalle, Chief Referee of the ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees, is part of a quartet of former international cricketers who will form the match referees for the eighth edition of the T20 World Cup.
The Sri Lankan Madugalle is joined by Andrew Pycroft from Zimbabwe, the English Christopher Broad and the Australian David Boon.
Pycroft will lead the tournament opener in Geelong on October 16, when Sri Lanka takes on Namibia in the first round with Joel Wilson and Rodney Tucker the judges in the middle. Paul Reiffel will act together with Erasmus as TV umpire and take on the role of fourth umpire.
Erasmus, Tucker and Aleem Dar are all set to compete in their seventh ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, with Langton Rusere refereeing his second World Cup of the year after being in the 2022 ODI Women’s World Cup, including the act as reserve referee for the final .
“Officials have been named for the entire First Round and Super 12s, and the rosters for the semi-finals and final of the tournament will be announced in due course,” the ICC added.
Match Officials at the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup:
Match Referees: Andrew Pycroft, Christopher Broad, David Boon, Ranjan Madugalle
referees: Adrian Holdstock, Aleem Dar, Ahsan Raza, Christopher Brown, Christopher Gaffaney, Joel Wilson, Kumara Dharmasena, Langton Rusere, Marais Erasmus, Michael Gough, Nitin Menon, Paul Reiffel, Paul Wilson, Richard IllingworthRichard Kettleborough, Rodney Tucker

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles