3.7 C
New York
Monday, February 6, 2023

Buy now

T20 World Cup: Sourav Ganguly hopes BCCI will ‘solve’ Indian team’s food problem | Cricket News

KOLKATA: Former BCCI president Sourav Ganguly didn’t read too much on Wednesday on the issue of some Indian players refusing the food supplied by the World Cup T20 organizers after a practice session in Sydney.
Cold sandwiches and falafel (seasoned chickpea puree or other pulses) were served to the Indian players after the practice session on Tuesday, and some declined the offer, opting instead for meals in their hotel rooms.
India will face the Netherlands on Thursday in their second T20 World Cup match.
“I’m sure BCCI will fix this,” said Ganguly speaking to reporters from the Calcutta Sports Journalists’ Club here.
Ganguly also spoke on Wednesday about Ireland’s stunning win over England in the T20 World Cup, a five-run victory via the Duckworth-Lewis method at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.
Ganguly called it a “little contest,” Ganguly said, “This is not the real result, I’m sure they will bounce back. You can’t help it when it rains.”
Ganguly congratulated Commonwealth Games medalists Saurav Ghosal and Achita Sheuli along with other sports achievers from Bengal in the renovated Maidan tent of the Calcutta Sports Journalists’ Club.
“It’s the reward for the hard work of an athlete all year long. I remember looking up to the CSJC Annual Awards when I was young,” said Ganguly, who grew nostalgic when he was named by CSJC during his formative years. to the best cricketer of the year .
Ganguly also congratulated former Bengal captain Manoj Tiwary who returned to cricket after becoming minister of state sports and played a key role in last season’s Ranji Trophy semi-final for two centuries and two half centuries.
“I have a dream – to win the Ranji trophy for Bengal. I’m at the end of my career and that’s why I keep fighting,” said 36-year-old Tiwary.
The prize winners:
Best Player of the Year: Achinta Sheuli (weightlifting), Saurav Ghosal (squash);
Special Prize: Promising Star – Adrian Karmakar (shooting).
State awards:
Best Cricket Player: Manoj Tiwary; Best Footballer: Souvik Chakraborty; Best Athlete/Rising Star: Almas Kabir; Best TT Player: Sutirtha Mukherjee; Best Swimmer: Nilabjaa Ghosh; Best Cyclist: Triyasha Paul; Best Gymnast: Pranati Nayak; Best Volleyball Player: Umar Faruk Halder; Best Shooter: Mehuli Ghosh; Best Chess Player: Mitrabha Guha.

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles