Meta’s instant messaging platform WhatsApp to drop the View Once messaging feature for Desktop features.
Meta-owned instant messaging app WhatsApp is planning to drop a key feature from its Desktop version. The “view once” messaging feature is no longer available to desktop users, meaning view once messages can only be opened on the phone. Users cannot access it on desktop as the feature is no longer supported on desktop apps. As of now, it has only been rolled out for beta testers, while the non-beta users can still access disappearing messages on the desktop app. But we assume it can be assumed that the feature will be rolled out to a wider audience soon. As reported by WABetaInfo, this change is being made by the app in line with the extra layer of security WhatsApp introduced a few days ago for View Once messages.
WhatsApp has released a new screenshot blocker feature for viewing messages on WhatsApp for Android and iOS and they cannot be saved by taking a screenshot or video recording. And now the Wabetainfo report said: “You can no longer open a message view once, as this feature is no longer supported on all desktop apps for extra privacy: this includes WhatsApp Web/Desktop (Electron version), WhatsApp for Windows (Universal Windows Platform version) and WhatsApp beta for macOS (native Catalyst app).” It added that the changes are necessary otherwise users would have opened the view as soon as the message appeared on the desktop to take a screenshot Please note that WhatsApp is currently removing the ability to send an open view as soon as messaging on Desktop mainly for beta users, the changes will be rolled out to all WhatsApp accounts soon as well.
Meanwhile, the app has introduced a new privacy feature that allows users to choose who can see their online active status and prohibit others from viewing their online active status. The new online status hiding feature is currently available to Android beta users, WhatsApp development tracker WabetaInfo reported.