13 C
New York
Tuesday, December 6, 2022

Buy now

More than 2 decades without power in Delhi, how BJP managed to keep MCD for 15 years? explained

Candidate lists and manifestos of political parties are out as only a few days are left for a fierce battle to secure the power of the 250 ward Municipal Corporation of Delhi. Aam Aadmi Party (AAP), which finished number two in the 2017 polls, is up against the Bharatiya Janata Party, which has ruled the MCD for 15 years.

On the other hand, Congress, which was once a dominant force in Delhi politics that won three consecutive terms under Sheila Dikshit but has been on the losing side since 2013, will try to reclaim its lost legacy and make the contest triangular. .

The high-stakes MCD elections will be held on December 4 and the votes will be counted on December 7.

In the last three MCD elections, the only fact that has remained unchanged is that the BJP has won all three. Despite the BJP having been out of power in the capital for more than twenty years, the BJP has won the last three MCD polls. News18 explains factors behind BJP’s winning streak in MCD:

Anti-incumbency against Sheila Dikshit Govt in 2007

Sheila Dikshit was sworn in as Delhi’s chief minister in 1998. Five years later, in 2002, Congress won a landslide victory in Delhi’s 134-member Municipal Corporation. This was the first time Congress had control over the Delhi local body and government.

However, the mandate returned within the next five years as the BJP made a comeback. The BJP had won 144 wards to an undivided MCD in the 2007 elections.

Easy win against a weakening Congress in 2012

Corruption allegations overshadowed Dikshit’s final term, and Congress paid the price. In 2011, the then Congress-UPA government divided the MCD into the municipal corporations in North Delhi, South Delhi, and East Delhi. 78. This election was considered a semi-final before the Delhi Assembly election in 2013, which ultimately lost the Congress.

BJP dropped all sitting councilors in 2017

Faced with allegations of anti-incumbency and financial mismanagement in the MCD, the BJP dropped all sitting councilors in the 2017 elections. The strategy worked for the BJP, which was able not only to maintain power but also its strength. expanded to 181 out of 138 in 2012. Even the AAP, which won a historic mandate in the 2015 parliamentary elections and won 67 out of 70 seats, was unable to stop the formidable BJP, but managed to claim second place and push Congress into third place.

Will BJP’s winning streak continue in 2022?

The BJP’s MCD candidates include more than 126 women, three Muslims, seven Sikhs and nine former mayors. It was the first time that the BJP gave religious and caste segregation to its candidates for elections.

Former mayor and general secretary of the BJP of Delhi, Harsh Malhotra, said 23 Punjabis, 21 Vaishyas, 42 Brahmins, 34 Jats, 26 Purvanchalis, 22 Rajputs, 17 Gujjars, 13 Jatavs, nine Balmikis, nine Yadavs, one Sindhi and two from Uttarakhand received tickets . “Among the candidates are seven Sikhs, three Muslims and one from the Jain community,” he said.

There were also 41 departing councilors on the list of candidates. In all, 52 former councilors from the past 10 years have been awarded tickets to the MCD polls, PTI reported.

Read all Latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles