5.5 C
New York
Sunday, December 4, 2022

Buy now

With 3 CMs, 6 union ministers, BJP to kick-start campaign for first phase in Gujarat; AAP begins recruiting for MCD poll

the counting of the votes will take place on 8 December.

The chief ministers of three states, six Union ministers and six other national leaders will occupy 46 parliament seats, while the state leaders will campaign for 36 seats in a single day, BJP chief CR Paatil said.

It will launch the party’s campaign for the first-stage candidates, he said.

As per party tradition, the BJP will launch “carpet bombing” programs of public gatherings on 82 seats out of 89, Paatil said. BJP President JP Nadda, Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan, Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath and Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma will be in Gujarat on Friday.

Union ministers who will participate in campaigns are Nitin Gadkari, Narendra Singh Tomar, Anurag Thakur, Faggan Singh Kulaste, VK Singh and Bharati Pawar. Maharashtra deputy CM Devendra Fadnavis, UP deputy CM Brijesh Pathak, leader of the opposition in West Bengal Suvendu Adhikari, BJP Yuva Morcha national president Tejasvi Surya and MP Jamyang Tsering Namgyal are also on the list of national leaders to follow Friday’s campaign trail will follow.

Apart from national leaders, Gujarat Chief Minister (Bhupendra Patel), former CM (Vijay Rupani), former deputy chief ministers, ex-MLAs not participating, former ministers and MPs of Gujarat will also participate in the program.

In addition, six BJP leaders, including a sitting MLA, and four former lawmakers have filed nominations as independents after being denied tickets for next month’s polls by the Saffron Party. For 89 seats that would go to the polls in the first phase, Thursday was the last day for withdrawing nominations.

The BJP has won six consecutive elections in Gujarat since 1995 and is doing everything it can to keep its victory unbroken in the traditionally bipolar poll involving the Congress, this time brightened by the arrival of the AAP.

Meanwhile, Congress continues its attack on the ruling BJP over the Morbi suspension bridge collapse recently. Senior Congress leader Digvijaya Singh took aim at Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel on Thursday over the Morbi bridge collapse, claiming it was an “act of fraud of the highest degree”.

Rajya Sabha member Singh said at a press conference in Gujarat that there can be no greater administrative failure than the tragedy of the bridge collapse last month, which claimed 135 lives, and said CM Patel should have resigned because of the incident. The suspension bridge on the Machchhu River in Morbi collapsed on October 30, four days after it was reopened after repairs and renovation.

Singh said: β€œ(Prime Minister) Narendra Modi had called the collapse of a bridge in West Bengal an ‘act of fraud’ in response to the ‘act of God’ comment by a Trinamool Congress (TMC) leader. Modiji, was Morbi an act of God or an act of fraud?” β€œIt was a fraud of the highest degree and Modiji, you are responsible and liable,” the former chief minister of Madhya Pradesh claimed.

Singh said Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel should have resigned over the tragedy.

MCD Elections 2022

The Aam Aadmi party began its first campaign phase on Thursday, with candidates starting marches in Delhi’s 250 wards and a cabinet minister carrying out a cleanup. The party offices in all 250 wards of the MCD election were also inaugurated. “All candidates will work with their respective departmental offices,” it said in a statement.

The first campaign phase starts on November 17 and lasts until November 22. The second phase starts on November 23.

AAP had started a ‘Jan Samvad’ (public dialogue) campaign at booth level a few days ago. The star campaigners and all 250 candidates hold a public dialogue every day at each stand against alleged mismanagement of waste.

Meanwhile, aiming to return to power in the MCD for the fourth time in a row, Delhi BJP has prepared a list of more than 60 star campaigners, including national party president JP Nadda and Home Minister Amit Shah party leaders said Thursday. Several leaders have already given their consent to join the campaign which will take place on Nov. 20 in all 14 districts after roadshows, they said, adding that each roadshow will be at least a mile long.

Union ministers including Rajnath Singh, Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Irani, Piyush Goyal, Kiren Rijiju and Anurag Thakur are also expected to campaign for polls at the Municipal Corporation of Delhi (MCD). The list will be released shortly after approval by the national leadership.

The Delhi BJP also released an “indictment form” against the AAP government accusing it of failing to keep its promises. Senior BJP leader Ramvir Singh Bidhuri read the “indictment form” at a press conference claiming that the issues raised in it had been verified, and challenged AAP organizer Arvind Kejriwal to debate it with him.

“In 8 years of its rule, Kejriwal’s government has made Delhi the most polluted national capital in the world, and also a capital of addiction by allowing liquor stores on every street in the city,” Bidhuri charged.

Himachal Elections 2022

When the pivotal assembly in Himachal Pradesh opted for a single-phase vote on Nov. 12, it recorded a record turnout of 75.6 percent, according to data available from the state’s polls on Sunday. The state continued to receive mail-in ballots after physical voting ended.

More women went to vote with 76.8 percent compared to 72.4 percent men. The percentage of the third gender poll was 68.4 percent. The highest polling rate of 85.25 percent was reported by Doon constituency and Shimla constituency had a rate of 62.53.

The high-octane poll is a crucial test for the BJP, which hopes to beat precedent and return to power as Congress urged voters to vote out the incumbent party as per tradition.

Read all Latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles