6.5 C
New York
Monday, January 30, 2023

Buy now

BJP, AAP, INLD candidates win in various Zila Parishad seats

The results of Haryana Panchayat polls were announced on Sunday, with BJP, AAP and INLD candidates winning several seats from zila parishes in the state.

The notice of names of all elected candidates will be duly published in Haryana State Gazette before Nov. 30, a senior pollster said.

According to a party leader, the ruling BJP won 22 of the Zila Parishad’s 102 seats in seven districts, including Ambala, Yamunanagar and Gurugram.

However, the party suffered a shock in Panchkula where it lost 10 seats from zila parishes.

The Aam Aadmi party managed to be present in the panchayat polls as it claimed victory over 15 seats of zila parishes in districts like Sirsa, Ambala, Yamunanagar and Jind. The AAP had contested about 100 seats from zila parishes.

India’s National Lok Dal, contesting 72 seats from zila parishes, recorded a 14-seat victory in the polls.

Congress has not contested the panchayat polls on his party symbol.

The political parties also claimed that the candidates supported by them also won several seats held by Zila Parishads.

Many independent candidates scored victories in the Zila Parishad polls, dealing a blow to political parties.

Karan Chautala, the Indian National Lok Dal (INLD) leader and Legislator of Ellenabad, Abhay Chautala’s son, won from ward number 6 of Zila Parishad in Sirsa by over 600 votes.

Speaking to reporters after the poll results, Karan Chautala thanked voters for his victory in the poll.

JJP MLA of Shahbad Ramkaran Kala’s son Kanwarpal won from ward number 1 of Shahbad Zila Parishad.

One of the prominent losers was the wife of Kurukshetra BJP MP Nayab Singh Saini, who was defeated by an independent from the number 4 branch of Ambala Zila Parishad.

Elections for 143 panchayat samitis and 22 zila parishes were held in three phases.

Haryana has 22 zila parishes with a total of 411 members. The members in turn elect the 22 heads of the Zila Parishad.

The state has 143 panchayat samitis consisting of 3,081 members who will elect their respective presidents.

Vote counting for the panchayat samiti and zila parishad polls began at 8 a.m. amid strict security arrangements at the counting centers. However, the state election commission’s dashboard, which displays the poll’s results, developed a technical problem in the afternoon.

Following the result of the poll, Haryana BJP chief OP Dhankar said that BJP candidates and party-backed nominees were elected in most places for zila parishes and panchayat samitis.

He also congratulated the winners in the polls.

AAP supremo and Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal congratulated his party candidates on their victories in Zila Parishad polls. In a tweet, Kejriwal asked them to work diligently for people.

AAP MP and party leader Haryana Sushil Gupta said the AAP won 15 seats from zila parishes.

With the result of the poll, it has become clear that the coming time in the state belongs to the Aam Aadmi party, he claimed.

Meanwhile, Haryana state election commissioner Dhanpat Singh said that out of 3,081 members of the state’s 143 panchayat samitis, 117 had already been unanimously elected.

For the remaining posts of 2,964 members, 11,888 candidates contested the election.

He said elections have been held for 411 members of 22 zila parishes and as many as 3,072 candidates have competed for these posts.

Singh said that the counting of votes for the election of 411 members of Zila Parishads and the remaining 2,964 members of Panchayat Samitis in 143 blocks for all 22 districts has been peacefully completed.

He said that the notice of names of all elected candidates will be duly published in the Government Gazette of Haryana State before November 30.

In the first phase, polls for zila parishes and panchayat samities were conducted on 30 October in nine districts of Bhiwani, Jhajjar, Jind, Kaithal, Mahendragarh, Nuh, Panchkula, Panipat and Yamunanagar, while on 2 November, polls for panches and sarpanches were maintained.

In the second stage, votes were cast on November 9 in Ambala, Charkhi Dadri, Gurugram, Karnal, Kurukshetra, Rewari, Rohtak, Sirsa and Sonipat for the election of panchayat samitis members and zila parishes, while the poll for panches and sarpanches in Gram Panchayats of these districts was held on November 12.

In the third and final phase, panchayat samitis and zila parishes in the remaining districts were voted on November 22, and the panches and sarpanches in these districts were elected on November 25.

The results of the elections for panches and sarpanches were announced immediately after voting at each stage. PTI CHS VSD RCJ



Read all the latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles