10.5 C
New York
Saturday, January 28, 2023

Buy now

BJP suspends 12 rebels fighting as independents; 6 times MLA among them

Gujarat’s ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday cracked the whip and suspended 12 party leaders, including six-term Madhu Shrivastav, Madhu Shrivastav and two former legislators, for submitting nominations as independent candidates in the upcoming parliamentary elections after their tickets had been refused.

The development came days after seven BJP leaders were suspended for submitting nominations as independent candidates for the first phase of parliamentary elections to be held on December 1.

Now 12 more leaders, who are competing against official candidates in the Assembly seats going to the polls on December 5 in the second phase, have been suspended by Gujarat BJP president CR Paatil, a release by the party’s state unit said.

Notably, November 21 was the last date to withdraw nominations for the 93 seats that will vote in the second phase. None of the BJP rebels backed out of the poll race and invited the party to disciplinary action.

These leaders, who will now fight BJP candidates on 11 seats in the north and center of Gujarat, include incumbent MLA of Vaghodia (Vadodara district) Madhu Shrivastav.

Former MLA of Padra Dinu Patel and ex-MLA of Bayad Dhavalsinh Zala were also among the 12 punished by the party.

Others include Kuldipsinh Raul (Savli), Khatubhai Pagi (Shehra), SM Khant (Lunawada), JP Patel (Lunawada), Ramesh Zala (Umreth), Amarshi Zala (Khambhat), Ramsinh Thakor (Kheralu), Mavji Desai (Dhanera) and Lebji Thakor (Deesa Constituency).

Read all the latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles