6.5 C
New York
Monday, January 30, 2023

Buy now

Congress, NCP Forge Pre-Poll Alliance; Sharad Pawar-led party battles for 3 seats

Congress and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) have formed an alliance for next month’s elections in Gujarat, in which the Sharad Pawar-led party will compete for three of the state’s total of 182 seats. the two parties announced here on Friday.

In the 2017 parliamentary elections, the two parties had contested the elections in Gujarat separately. Kandhal Jadeja of NCP was the only MLA to win the match. He represents the seat of the assembly of Kutiyana in Porbandar district.

Gujarat Congress President Jagdish Thakor made an announcement about the alliance, saying: “NCP, in conjunction with Congress, will fight the upcoming Assembly polls in the state. The NCP will compete for three seats – Umreth (district Anand), Naroda (Ahmedabad) and Devgadh Baria (Dahod District) as part of the alliance.” These three seats are currently held by the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

“Congress has decided to forge an alliance with the parties that were with us in UPA-1 and 2 at the national level,” Thakor said while expressing confidence that the great old party would come to power in the state through 125 seats to win.

He said that people who share the same ideology and work to save the Constitution and the unity of the country are coming together against the fascist forces, and this alliance is part of the same.

Speaking to reporters, Jayant Patel Boskey, president of the NCP unit, said the NCP will support Congress in fighting the Gujarat assembly elections.

“We will make sure to contest these three seats fairly. I am grateful for the confidence Congress has placed in us. We will not do anything that damages the image of the NCP,” he said.

Thakor said there is a possibility that NCP workers would demand more seats, but according to the alliance, the party will only contest three seats.

The elections in BJP-ruled Gujarat will take place in two phases – on December 1 and 5, and the vote counting will take place on December 8.

Read all Latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles