6.5 C
New York
Monday, January 30, 2023

Buy now

Set a new record, Spl wishes first voters, Modi says as voting begins on all 68 seats

Assembly segments would be kept in one stage.

As states head to the polls, the ruling BJP hopes for an encore to its development agenda, while the opposition congress urges voters to follow the four-decade-old tradition of voting out incumbents. More than 55 lakh voters in the Hill State will decide the fate of 412 candidates including Chief Minister Jairam Thakur, former CM Virbhadra Singh’s son Vikramaditya Singh and former BJP chief Satpal Singh Satti. Aam Adami Party (AAP) also hopes to make a mark in the state and is competing for all 68 seats.

Besides these three parties, parties like Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Communist Party of India (Marxist), Communist Party of India (CPI) and Rashtriya Devbhumi Party (RDP) are in the fray. BJP brought star campaigners such as Union Home Minister Amit Shah, Party Chief Jagat Prakash Nadda and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath to the polls. Prime Minister Narendra Modi also campaigned in the hill state.

Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra also arrived on the scene along with other top leaders of the party including Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel. Today’s polls also have a lot of significance for JP Nadda as Himachal Pradesh is his native state.

The vote will take place in all of the state’s 68 Assembly seats, the majority of which (44) came in the BJP bag in the 2017 Assembly polls, which limited Congress to just 21 seats.

Residents carry your voter card at the voting booth

Voters must have their Elector Photo Identity Card (EPIC) with them and show it at the voting booth. In addition to their voter cards, they are also allowed to carry one proof of identity with them. According to the Election Commission, a total of 55,92,828 voters, including 27,37,845 women, 28,54,945 men and 38 of the third sex, will determine the fate of the candidates.

This time, the representation of female candidates is 24. The state, which has seen power alternate between the BJP and Congress in recent elections, will go to the polls on Saturday. While the BJP has expressed confidence to come back to power based on the performance of state and central governments and its vision of the state, Congress hopes some of its election promises will have great appeal among the electorate.

Polling Security Controls

About 50,000 government employees are obliged to vote. Of the 7881 polling stations, 981 are critical and 901 are classified as vulnerable. Chask Bhatori of Bharmour Tribal AC of Chamba district is one such polling station where the polling station has to walk 14 km to reach it. A whopping 55,92,828 voters are eligible to vote in the polls, including 67,559 service voters and 22 NRAs.

Of the total number of eligible voters, 27,37,845 are women, 28,54,945 men and 38 belong to the third sex. As many as 1.93 lakh voters are between 18-19 years old. Teams of the National Disaster Relief Force (NDRF) and the State Disaster Relief Force (SDRF), consisting of 800 troops, have also been put on standby.

A state disaster management plan, along with district disaster management plans, has been prepared at the request of the Chief Electoral Officer (CEO). The State Disaster Management Authority (SDMA) has deployed teams of the National Disaster Relief Force (NDRF) and State Disaster Relief Force (SDRF), each comprising 50 personnel, to the tribe-dominated districts of Lahaul & Spiti and Chamba for rapid response in case of unwanted incidents or natural disasters.

Ten NDRF and SDRF personnel have been deployed to Chamba and Pangi district headquarters. In addition, there are 10 NDRF personnel each stationed at the district headquarters of Lahaul-Spiti, Kaza and Udaipur. The polling station has also set up a total of 7,881 polling stations for municipal elections. Kangra district has a maximum of 1,625 polling stations while Lahaul-Spiti district has the least with 92.

Punjab Announces Holiday for Himachal Pradesh . Voters

The government of Punjab on Friday announced a special holiday for workers who are voters of Himachal Pradesh due to the vote for the parliamentary elections in the hill state.

If any of the government officials or employees who work in the government offices, boards, businesses and educational institutions of Punjab and is a voter in Himachal Pradesh, the person can celebrate a special holiday on Saturday by showing a voter card to the authority, according to an official spokesman. This leave is not debited from their leave account. Paid vacation has been declared for all persons who are voters in Himachal Pradesh and work in any business, trade, industrial enterprise or other establishment in Punjab, the spokesman said.

The decision was made under subsection 1 of section 135-B of the Representation of the People Act, 1951.

Read all Latest political news here

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles