6.5 C
New York
Monday, January 30, 2023

Buy now

India vs South Africa, 3rd T20I: India rests Virat Kohli, KL Rahul but another stern test awaits bowling unit | Cricket News

INDORE: It may be an insignificant game on paper, but Indian bowlers are waiting for another tough test against South Africa before the match. World Cup T20 when the two teams meet in the last game of the three-game series here on Tuesday.
After concluding their first-ever home game against South Africa, the Indian team management has decided to rest their best hitter Virat Kohli and vice-captain. KL Rahul for the last game.
“Yes, both Virat and Rahul are equipped with the latest T20I,” said a BCCI official.
After the final game against the Proteas, Kohli and Rahul will join the squad in Mumbai from which the team will head to Australia on October 6 for the T20 World Cup.

Standby batter Shreyas Iyer is expected to replace Kohli for the last game in the current XI. With Rahul also rested, either Suryakumar Yadav or Rishabh Pant will open along with Rohit Sharma.
With no second reserve batter in the squad, Shahbaz Ahmed or one of Mohammed Siraj or Umesh Yadav could take a look.
Since their early exit from the T20 World Cup 12 months ago, the Indian at bat has come a long way and looks formidable leading up to the next edition which starts later this month.
The majority of the batters remain the same from the UAE edition, but it is the drastic change in approach that has made all the difference.
Heading into the ICC event, India’s high-profile top three has reached peak form, including Rahul, who allayed concerns about his strike rate with a sublime effort on Sunday.
Kohli has hit a 140-plus success rate since the Asian Cup, including three 50s and a highly anticipated 100. Skipper Rohit had impactful innings over the course of six home games against Australia and South Africa.

Number four Suryakumar Yadav is in a league of his own and seems to be playing at a much higher level than his teammates, so much so that Rohit is considering playing him directly in the team’s World Cup opener against Pakistan on October 23.
Pant has yet to make any profit in the series and while Dinesh Karthik got seven balls in the second T20, he is also hoping for a hit in the middle.
The absence of Jasprit Bumrah has exacerbated bowling problems in India, especially in the death-overs, but the team must find a way if the star pacer doesn’t get fit in time for the ICC event.
Deepak Chahar, who belongs to the World Cup reserves, was impressive with the new ball, but questions remain about his effectiveness towards the end of the innings.
Arshdeep Singh impressed with both new and old balls but was unusually expensive on Sunday. After not throwing balls no fewer than three times, it was an unforgettable evening for the left-arm pacer who would love to bounce back.

The variations Harshal Patel relies on to control the batters have not produced the desired result since his return from injury.
Red ball big R Ashwin has yet to get a wicket in the series and India will look to him for wickets in the middle overs.
Siraj was included in the roster in Bumrah’s absence and could also play at Holkar Stadium, but India could continue to take it out of Harshal Patel’s rhythm as he would need more playing time after an injury.
In the extreme humidity of Guwahati, the South African pacers struggled to get hold of the ball and eventually gave the Indian batters many full throws. They would like to rectify that.
Despite the series loss, there were many positives for the visitors in the batting division. David Miller continued his menacing form this year, beating an unbeaten hundred while Quinton de Kock got the much needed runs for the World Cup.
The main concern for the Proteas is the form of their skipper Temba Bavuma, who has yet to score a point in the series.
Plowing (of)
India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Deepak Chahar, Umesh Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Shahbaz Ahmed and Mohammad Siraj.
South Africa: Temba Bavuma (Captain), Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles