20.9 C
New York
Saturday, September 24, 2022

Buy now

2023 Ashes Series Begins June 16 in Edgbaston | Cricket News

The men Ash Five-Test series between England and Australia will begin next year on June 16 in Edgbaston, organizers said on Wednesday.
The second Test will be held at Lord’s from June 28, followed by the third at Headingley from July 6 and the fourth at Old Trafford from July 19. The series concludes at The Oval with the fifth Test scheduled for July 27.
Australia defeated England 4-0 in the latest edition of the Ashes – a result that led to the sacking of coach Chris Silverwood and later saw Joe Root step down as captain.
England, now led by skipper Ben Stokes and coach Brendon McCullum, will host Ireland in a one-off test before meeting the Australians in the Ashes.
Australia is currently the top-ranked team in Tests, while England are fourth.
The Women’s Ashes is held in a multi-format series consisting of one Test match, three one-day internationals and three Twenty20 internationals. It starts on June 22.
The Test will be England’s first women’s five-day homegrown, and their first visit to Trent Bridge since 2000, while Edgbaston, Lord’s and The Oval will all host their first Women’s Ashes T20Is.
Test matches for women are usually held over a maximum of four days, as opposed to five in the men’s game.
Australian women won the multi-format Ashes this year.
After the Ashes, the England men’s team will host New Zealand in four ODIs and four T20s.

Source link

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest Articles